Week 10, 11 and 12 – Life Gets In The Way

Yes, I know. I caught up and now I’m behind again. As the title says, sometimes life gets in the way. That’s the way it feels right now. My life is so unbelievably full and busy that I rarely have time to sit at the computer these days. The only reason I am right now is that everyone is asleep and I wanted to get up to stoke the fire. So what has been happening?

The Mower
So, you may remember last post we were amidst the lawn mower in its death throes. Well, it was well and truly dead. Turns out it had put a gasket through the engine wall (I think that was it – eep!) and was not repairable. Sim managed to find a cheap replacement which he put on last weekend. It runs really well after some tweaking (involving me and a tomato stake, wouldn’t you like to know ;)) and even better on some of the hairier sections of the hills.

The Garden
Is getting there, although at times it seems to be a case of one step forward two steps back. For the moment we seem to have foiled the potoroos with some colourful windmills which whirl day and night. We have lots on the go in the vegetable garden, although what will make it to harvest is yet to be seen. The rockmelons, honeydews and capsicum are still growing strong. They are now joined by cucumbers, tomatoes, beetroot, corn, watermelon, carrots, celery, snowpeas, sugar snaps, beans, kale and broccoli. We also have a weird vine that has popped up which I am watching to see what it is. We also have gourd vines which are threatening to take over the entire garden (you think I’m kidding don’t you!) which I am cutting back routinely, but want to keep for the moment so am not eradicating. I made the hard decision to stop clearing the vegie tiers until we have the first few growing. It is easy to just keep clearing them out, but I am worried about losing a lot of soil and having to continually weed the beds, taking time away from all the other things I need to do. Hopefully once things cool off and we move out of the grow season we’ll get a handle on the weeds a little better.
Just this week we made a trip to Daley’s Fruit Tree Nursery. It has to be one of my favourite places to shop. We now have added rhubarb, curry leaf, native ginger, thornless blackberry, coffee bean and another mulberry which is to add shade to the chook pen.

The Chickens
The girls are going well. Quinn and I finally fixed the whole pen and mowed it, giving the girls a lot more room to roam. With all the little holes finally fixed in the wire we started getting an egg a day, then it dropped off again. It seems one of the baby goanna’s found a hole we missed (a single link missing in the chicken wire) and was getting in to eat the eggs. Leo found the hole and we are once again getting an egg a day. Next week we hope to add six more hens and a rooster to our flock.

So where has all the time gone? Well, I help out at school where I can. One day a week I go in to listen to kids read, I enjoy it and Quinn thinks it is fun. I also help out with swimming occasionally plus drop off and pick up the kids each day. Then there is all the everyday boring stuff of meals and lunch boxes, laundry, shopping, garbage runs, mowing, weeding and parenting. Having to solo parent three little people five days a week is very hard at times and I take my hat off to all the solo parents out there. The commute and living a part is also hard for Sim, he has so much he wants to do here and is confined to doing it over the two days of the weekend whilst also trying to reconnect with his three kids and me, his wife. It was something we knew would be hard, but I thought I would share it for the sake of authenticity, its not all sunshine and roses ;). We have also lost time to a jaunt to the beach and a wedding. So the past three weeks have been very full. There is a lot more I could share, but I am tired and tomorrow is the start of another week. There is the discoveries of new tracks and spaces through our land. New ideas we have for what we will do. New animals, birds, reptiles and amphibians we have encountered. The understanding of our tanks and pipes that I have. That I feel like I am getting close to feeling confident with the wood stove. That the kids feel at home now and a sense of ownership for our space. That life is good, hard, busy, tiring and joyful all at once.

As there is a lack of photo’s this post I leave you with a picture of three of the four tree frogs which have taken up residence in our shed toilet. Each morning when I unlock the shed the three kids go in to check on the frogs. The day we got back from the beach we were surprised to also find a brown tree snake hanging out in the bathroom in the shed, which I was worried may have eaten the frogs (it turns out she was just resting after feasting on the shed mice). They are just another part of our day now.

Three Fat Froggies

Until next time…..

2 thoughts on “Week 10, 11 and 12 – Life Gets In The Way

  1. Love the frogs Jo, I do so look forward to reading all about how you are doing things up there and am really looking forward to seeing you all again. Much love to you all.

Leave a Reply

