Food Glorious Food

I’ve been having a bit of a renaissance with food of late.

Food Glorious Food


As most people with young children will appreciate, food can often become a stress, battle ground or just plain boring. I had been stuck in a rut and the kid stuff combined with a pretty tight budget and left me feeling pretty, well “Meh” about food in general. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE food and I also LOVE to cook, but when you spend three hours tending a fire and cooking a sumptuous (and sometimes expensive) dinner in between all the other daily stuff only to be met by three rounds of “I don’t like ” or “that looks yucky” or even “sorry, I don’t like it” you get a bit over spending the time and effort.

So, what happened. Well, first I decided to try and get to where I wanted to be with our food now instead of it always being sometime in that distant future.

Making Wild Berry Ice Cream


We’re not there yet mind you, but we are getting there a little faster now. I have reduced the processed foods in the house (although with christmas coming they are creeping up a little), tried to get back to basics with our food and use as much local and seasonal produce as I can.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake


I have also started to use more of what I have ‘now’ in the garden. I was using bits and pieces, but because the kids wouldn’t eat something I would stop making it. It was incredibly frustrating too that they would like something the first try (usually straight out of the oven or off the stove) but not subsequent times. Case in point – rhubarb muffins.

Making Rhubarb Muffins


Homemade Custard

I’m trying out new things again, something I had given up on. Mostly though, I have, for the moment anyway, grown a thicker skin about the stuff I make and am trying to make it for myself not to please everyone else.

Making Rocket and Cashew Pesto


Bruschetta - Homemade Pesto and Bread with Homegrown Tomatoes

I also take comfort in the fact that we are all happily eating homemade bread every day now šŸ˜‰ it was a rocky start with that one too, but we’ve all adjusted now.

Leave a Reply

